Almost Time to Make-Up

My make-up “trial” is scheduled for October 1st.

I know what you’re thinking and no, I haven’t decided to have someone do my make-up the day of the wedding.  I’m still pulling a Kate Middleton and doing it myself.

She had the right idea.  On my wedding day, I want to look like me.

This “trial” is purely just me going to the Laura Mercier make-up counter at the mall and having one of their cosmetic artists give me a wedding look.  Part of the deal is that you have to spend a certain amount on their products but let’s be honest – I was going to do that anyway.  I’m not just going to buy the make up, though (that would’ve been taken care of this past weekend when I was buying oh so many flip-flops).  The make up artist is going to give me some pointers like how to conceal any under eye circles (I hope), what eyeshadow will complement my skin tone the most, and how to keep it lasting all day.

Getting this “trial” is the best option for me.  I still want to look nice the day of.

Since I’ve been using this line since I was 17 (yep – I had a trial done for when I went to my prom), I know it works well with my skin.  That’s roughly 8 years worth of experience.  Did you know that the person who taught me how to do my make up was a man?  It’s true.  A male make-up artist taught me how to doll myself up.  He’s the reason I make sure to moisturize my face every day.  I’ll be thanking him when I’m 60 years old.

I’ve started browsing around for different wedding looks.  I really should get an idea of how I’d like to look the day of the wedding.  Plus, if I have an image of what I like, the Laura Mercier make-up artist may be able to replicate the look and teach me how to do it.  That would be awesome.

So far, this is my favorite look.  Very simple and sweet.  Although, I would like to be wearing a bit more color on my lips.  That’s just my personal preference.

I’d like to stay away from anything harsh or overly dramatic.

I’d also like to find an eyeliner that doesn’t smudge, but that’s for another day.

{Image of bridal look from Style Me Pretty.}

2 Responses to “Almost Time to Make-Up”


  1. 1 Julia @ Chris loves Julia {September 20, 2011} at 3:29 pm

    So fun!! That look is so fresh and natural.

  2. 2 Katie @ explanationrequired {September 20, 2011} at 4:06 pm

    That’s a beautiful look, although I definitely think it’d shine all the more with the bit of extra lip color you described. Good luck!


Leave a Comment

Hello There!

Kristen & Joe
My name is Kristen and that handsome guy in the picture with me is my husband, Joe. We got hitched a year ago and since then, we've been busy turning our apartment into a place we're proud to call our home. Welcome!

Find Me on Twitter Follow Me on Pinterest Subscribe Contact Me

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 223 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

